EDI CON USA 2018 took place in Santa Clara Convention Center on October 17 and 18, and as part of its technical program, EDI CON USA presents its Outstanding Paper Awards. The papers are judged for technical merit by the EDI CON USA Technical Advisory Committee, and the winners and finalists are celebrated in a ceremony at the event.

“This year’s competition was particularly challenging,” noted Technical Program Director Janine Love, “and we had more finalists than in the past. All of the event team extends our sincere appreciation to the authors, presenters, and Technical Advisory Committee for their impressive work this year.”

Congratulations to the winners: 

Simulation and Modeling

Causality in Power Delivery Network (PDN) Extractions in Package & Board

Vinod Arjun Huddar (Western Digital)

5G and Advanced Communications

Realistic Antenna Array Modeling for 5G Communications

Laila Salman (ANSYS Canada)


Advances in Technology and Design of UWB mmWave Planar and Non-Planar Diplexers for Applications up to 100 GHz

Irfan Ashiq (NI Components)

RF and Microwave Design

Optimization Approaches for Digital Controlled Tunable Filters for Receivers

Yarkin Yigit (ASELSAN) and Erdem Yazgan (TED University)

Signal Integrity

IEEE P370: A Fixture Design and Data Quality Metric Standard for Interconnects Up to 50 GHz

Jay Diepenbrock (SIRF Consultants)

Test and Measurement

High Speed/mmWave Measurement-Based Model Development: Uncertainties and Model Sensitivities

Jon Martens (Anritsu)

Power Integrity Finalist 

The 2-Port Shunt-Thru Measurement and the Inherent Ground Loop

Anto Davis and Steve Sandler (Picotest)

EDI CON China 2019 will take place in Beijing, China from April 1-3. The Call for Papers is now open, with deadline for submission January 10, 2019. EDI CON USA 2019 returns to the Santa Clara Convention Center on September 10-11.